23dom: Week 3. 07/02/15 – 14/02/15

Day 16. Saturday. 07/02/15
#CRIKEY

Day-16

I often get these big and wonderful ideas, this is my current adventurous tangle of practicalities. Watch this space…


Day 17. Sunday. 08/02/15
#WHAT NOW

Day-17

This is based on a recent experience I had while visiting family friends and being asked to “un-Uncle” my one uncle figure and call him by just his first name. It’s rather difficult to unlearn such set “norms” that have always been so since I was little. This is one example of many.


Day 18. Monday. 09/02/15
#AMAWOOFWOOF

Day-18

Hmmm, does it make it any better that I can admit that I can be one (from time to time only, obviously…)?


Day 19. Tuesday. 10/02/15
#CUTSDEEP

Day-19

This is the second time I’ve managed to cut my finger with a sharp knife while preparing spinach (of all things). This time at least it didn’t end in stitches.


Day 20. Wednesday. 11/02/15
#ONE

Day-20

Still early days and counting. One month together yet one month apart.


Day 21. Thursday. 12/02/15
#JUNGLEHEADED

Day-21

Today’s thought is a continuation from Day 16, in which my brain is a mushy mess of thoughts and confusions, of excitements and doubts about the future, foreign countries and hearts. Made me think of the fab song by Wankelmut & Emma Louise: My Head is a Jungle (Give it a listen. Let it get stuck in your brain too! My gift to you.)


Day 22. Friday. 13/02/15
#JUST

Day-22

I got thinking about the formalities of making plans with old friends, new friends and people in between and how one goes about deciding on what kind of “date” you would care/be able to do based on your relationship with that person. Simple coffee dates by no means [always] hold a negative connotation, but I wouldn’t necessarily want to go on an extended lunch date or similar with certain people, I mean you’re setting yourselves up for a commitment of being able to hold long[er] conversations, choosing what to eat (mothatrucking pasta vs the greek salad, darling) and then still eating it awkwardly in front of each other while trying to determine the difference between awkward silence or eating silence, oh… and then the bill. Honestly, sometimes just going for coffee is a WAY less stressful/awkward/intimidating/ idunno invitation… sometimes you’re just a coffee date to me.


Day 23. Saturday. 14/02/15
#VDAY

Day-23

The distance between us is only half of the Earth, no biggie.
Also the last day of the 23dom series… and it’s Valentines day (23 days after my 23rd birthday!).


Let me know your thoughts about 23dom, the posts, your own experiences of being in your confused 20’s, being a creative and anything in between… I’d love to chat (and maybe do a follow up similar series).
To keep up to date with my latest artworks, follow me on Instagram @shmaymee.

Leave a Reply

