23dom: Week 1. 23/01/15 – 30/01/15

Day 1. Friday. 23/01/15
#BIRTHDAY

Day-1“It’s ma birfday, it’s ma birfday, Ima spend ma money.” – as according to Will.i.am.  And there I sat on my bed in the morning before work on a Friday, opening my presents brought back from home over the holiday, waiting patiently for this day. I’m 23. No more Taylor Swifting now, but then again: “We’re happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time. It’s miserable and magical.” Oh yeah!


Day 2. Saturday. 24/01/15
#SHATTERED

Day-2Shattered was my passenger window. Shattered were my emotions, my security. Shattered as I drove home from the best day spent with my best mates in the Joburg Botanical Gardens for my birthday picnicing. Shattered went my window as I came to a robot and a man broke my window, got half into my car, and tried to take my bag. Hello crime. Bad timing.


Day 3. Sunday. 25/01/15
#REPORT

Day-3With crime comes admin and police stations. Today I learnt how to file a police report. And got hit on by a police officer. Could SOMEONE in an authoritative role in this country please just do right.


Day 4. Monday. 26/01/15
#BLACKOUT

Day-4Eskom is going through a very selfish stage and doesn’t want to share its power. For that, we’re experiencing total blackouts for a few hours at a time, which is actually only bad when you’re at home, at night, alone, in the dark, after a traumatic experience (see day 2). Buuuuut… when it happens during the day at work, well then it’s not my loss…


Day 5. Tuesday. 27/01/15
#BEERBROS

Day-5Our lunch break was only granted late afternoon when the power was expected to go out. Starving, us cool people hit up our local lunch spot (which is also conveniently unaffected by power outages). Chillin’ with da boys, dranking beer – the only way to do it.


Day 6. Wednesday. 28/01/15
#SUNNY

Day-6Sometimes it’s necessary to take a moment to remember that the smiling, fabulous models in magazines are paid to look so. They’re working a job. It can’t all be peachy. They leave that wardrobe in the office. I also just felt like tearing up some magazine pages.


Day 7. Thursday. 29/01/15
#LOVE&ATTRACTION

Day-7

Well because Austin Kleon is the bomb dig, and the writer of the book I’m busy reading about how to show you creative work to the world. This guy. His brain is great. And so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

