23dom: The beginning of a documentative series

23-cover_SlatemThere seems to be an increasing number of Buzzfeed posts or Elite Dailies on social media focusing on the trials, confusions, good thangs, bad thangs and general common traits supposedly experienced in your 20’s.

In particular though, my timeline has had a lot about being 23 (because many of my friends have been chugging away at this age for some time already…. #hipsters). Posts like: “23 reasons nobody likes turning 23”, “23 real-life struggles of being 23” and the likes…

So as my 23rd birthday approached, and the 23rd of January drew closer, I decided I’d record my own experiences, thoughts and understandings for the first 23 days of being this young/old/present/absent.

My idea is to document/doodle/illustrate/write/collage the most significant thought or happening of the day – and date it – to capture these initial days of being a 23 year-old, living by myself in Johannesburg, entering my second year post-varsity and with a fresh (but long distance) relationship on my mind.

The intention is to blog and Instagram the image, a tagline and then a brief explanation/ expansion about the day, each day.

The twenty threedom title plays on the word freedom (because we’re in the age of independence) and the Afrikaans word dom (meaning stupid or clueless – because we don’t have it/much/most/anything really figured out right now).

Leave a Reply

